The Derby 4 or 5 Places Each Way

A guide to the bookmakers offering additional each way places at sport's biggest events.

The Derby Additional Each Way Places

The Investec Derby is the highlight of any flat racing season and is branded as the greatest flat race in the world. Ran since 1780 at Epsom Downs racecourse, it's regarded as the 'Blue Riband' of the turf - the race that every horse owner wants to win. Run over 1 mile and 4 furlongs, The Derby is now raced on Saturday with a worldwide audience of millions.

Naturally The Derby generates huge amount of interest from a betting perspective with horse racing punters and casual bettors all keen to land the winner. With fields of up to 16 runners in recent years, online bookmakers are always happy to give punters real value in this race, especially as it's the biggest race of the flat racing season. The feature race of Saturday at the Derby Festival, expect 4 places or potentially even 5 places each way on the Investec Derby. Of course, offering 4 places each way or sometimes even 5 places each way is an excellent way to offer maximum profit opportunity for punters and is a promotion which will drive 2017 Derby customer registrations which the online bookmakers are all fighting for.

2017 The Derby 4 or 5 Places Each Way

The winners list of The Derby is, as you would expect, nothing but spectacular. Sir Ivor, Mill Reef, Nijinsky, The Minstrel, Shergar, Slip Anchor, Nashwan, Lammtarra, Galileo - these are superstar horses. Since 2003 though, The Derby has been dominated by 2 trainers: Sir Michael Stoute has won the race 3 times, 5 in total, last training Workforce in 2010 who won in a record fast time by 7 lengths. Aidan O'Brien though equalled that record in 2014 when Australia was added to his list of winners which includes Galileo (2001), High Chaparral (2002), Camelot (2012) and Ruler of the World (2013). Australia was O'Brien's 3rd consecutive winner of The Derby, a feat that had never been performed previously.

With anything up to 16 runners across recent races, online bookmakers pay out the standard 3 places each way at 1/4 odds for The Derby. However with The Derby being the highlight of the flat racing calendar, a growing number of bookmakers over recent seasons have promoted 4 places each way or even 5 places each way. Sky Bet were the first to offer 5 places each way at 1/5 odds in 2016; that is a huge coup for punters, when other online bookmakers offer the standard 3 places each way. It's worth remembering as a punter that the big online bookmakers have a new customer war chest for the flat classics, so offering additional each way places attracts new customers who spot the value to be had. Naturally 5 places each way covers circa 30% of the field - a situation which can only drive your chance of profit.

bet365 Horse Racing Promotions

  • Extended each way places at full 1/4 odds on selected races.
  • Price Promise - bet365 offer best price on every horse running live on ITV Racing. Further details.
  • ITV Racing 4/1 Offer - up to £/€50 risk-free bet on the next ITV live race if you back a winner at 4/1 or greater. Country restrictions apply. Further details.

If you haven't got an active bet365 account yet, take advantage of their market-beating £200 or €200 (for Republic of Ireland residents) new customer offer as highlighted below. Simply click on the blue link to access your Welcome Bonus:

bet365 Up to £/€200 first deposit bonus using code BONUS200 - claim your bonus here.

For customers outside of the UK & Ireland click here for details of the best new customer offer for your country, again use BONUS200 to claim.

bet365, as always, will be offering huge value across the 2 days of the Derby Festival. Expect additional each way places across the big-field handicaps and potentially The Oaks & The Derby themselves. For each-way punters bet365 will also pay out full 1/4 odds each way on all races, where some online bookmakers will pay out 1/5 odds.

bet365 also offer their Price Promise which is an undoubted market-leading promotion. They pledge to offer the best price across every runner in all live ITV broadcast races. Best price or joint best price is matched from the following list of Bookmakers: Boylesports, Coral, Ladbrokes, Paddy Power, Sky Bet and William Hill.

bet365 will also have their massively popular ITV Racing 4/1 promotion activated across all live ITV Racing races. So if you back a winner at 4/1 or more in any ITV Racing live race you'll receive a risk-free bet to the same stake on the next live ITV Racing race. This promotion is not just for Epsom but runs across all live ITV Racing meetings - totalling just under 100 shows per year.

The Derby Each Way Places Tracker

We track the value dished out by online bookmakers across the major flat races. Extended each way terms gives punters a huge boost in terms of profit potential and is the perfect promotion for those who love to back big priced long shots. With some High Street bookmakers still categorically giving their customers the standard each way terms, savvy online punters have been using online bookmakers who have been offering far better value to their customers now for years. Recent renewals of The Derby have seen up to 16 runners, giving online bookmakers such as Sky Bet the opportunity to go 5 places each way.

2017 Each Way Terms Offered:

  • 5 places each way: Sky Bet (1/5 odds)
  • 4 places each way: bet365 (1/4 odds); Betfred, BetVictor, Coral, Ladbrokes, Paddy Power, Totesport (1/5 odds)
  • 3 places each way: William Hill (1/4 odds); Betfair Sportsbook, Stan James (1/5 odds)

Here's a breakdown of the horses and their prices that have been paid out on over and above the standard 3 places each way in The Derby from 2016 onwards:

  • 2017: Eminent 5/1; 5th Benbatl 20/1
  • 2016: 4th Wings of Desire 6/1; 5th Humphrey Bogart 25/1

The Derby Recent Results

  • 2017 Wings of Eagles PB Beggy AP O'Brien 40/1 18 runners
  • 2016 Harzand PJ Smullen DK Weld 13/2 16 runners
  • 2015 Golden Horn L Dettori JHM Gosden 13/8F 12 runners
  • 2014 Australia JP O'Brien AP O'Brien 11/8 16 runners
  • 2013 Ruler of the World RL Moore AP O'Brien 7/1 12 runners
  • 2012 Camelot JP O'Brien AP O'Brien 8/13F 9 runners
  • 2011 Pour Moi M Barzalona A Fabre 4/1 13 runners
  • 2010 Workforce RL Moore Sir M Stoute 6/1 12 runners
Grand National 5 Places Eaxh Way
Home   |  The Masters 6 Places Each Way | US Open 6 Places Each Way | Open Championship 8 Places Each Way | US PGA 6 Places Each Way
About 6 Places Each Way
         Responsible Gambling:
              6 Places Each Way Contacts:
BetVictor Free Bet