2000 Guineas 4 or 5 Places Each Way

A guide to the bookmakers offering additional each way places at sport's biggest events.

2000 Guineas Additional Each Way Places

The QIPCO sponsored 2000 Guineas is a highlight of any flat racing season. Traditionally the first classic of the British flat racing summer, the 2000 Guineas Stakes, to give the race its full title, is a Group 1 standard contest for 3-year old colts and fillies, making it a true thoroughbred contest. Run over the famous Rowley Mile, a course which is straight and slightly downhill until the finish line, the race pace invariably is incredibly fast and the 2000 Guineas, like the 1000 Guineas run the day after, is contested over 8 furlongs or a mile.

The race is hugely popular with the richest owners and punters alike. With fields of up to 19 runners in recent years, online bookmakers are always happy to give punters real value in this race, especially as it's the first flat racing classic of the season. The feature race of Saturday at the Guineas Festival, it's also a highlight of any racing season so expect 4 places or potentially even 5 places each way on the 2000 Guineas. Of course, offering 4 places each way or sometimes even 5 places each way is an excellent way to offer maximum profit opportunity for punters and is a promotion which will drive 2017 Guineas Festival new customer registrations for savvy customers.

2017 2000 Guineas 4 or 5 Places Each Way

The QIPCO 2000 Guineas has been a happy hunting ground for Irish-based super trainer Aidan O'Brien since 1998. Back then he trained John Magnier and Michael Tabor owned King of Kings to Guineas success, which was soon followed by Rock of Gibraltar in 2012, again owned by Magnier, but this time in association with Sir Alex Ferguson. The relationship between O'Brien and Magnier/Tabor has been unrelenting in modern day flat racing, with this combination generating 5 winners since 2005, namely Footstepsinthesand (2005), George Washington (2006), Henrythenavigator (2008), Camelot (2012) and Gleneagles (2015). However the 2000 Guineas will always be linked to Frankel who in 2011 was the shortest-priced favourite for the race since 1974. He never disappointed leading by 15 lengths at halfway, then cruising to a 6 length victory for Henry Cecil.

With anything up to 19 runners across recent renewals, online bookmakers pay out the standard 3 places each way at 1/4 odds for the 2000 Guineas. However with the 2000 Guineas being a highlight of the flat racing calendar, a growing number of bookmakers over recent seasons have promoted an additional place, offering 4 places each way. However 2017 could see this change as the competitive nature of the online bookmaker industry would make the 2000 Guineas perfect for a 5 places each way promotion. It's worth remembering as a punter that the big online bookmakers have a new customer war-chest for the flat classics, so offering additional each way places attracts new customers who spot the value to be had. Naturally 4 places each way covers circa 25% of the field - a situation which can only drive the chances of profit.

2000 Guineas Each Way Places Tracker

We track the value dished out by online bookmakers across the major flat races. Extended each way terms gives punters a huge boost in terms of profit potential and is the perfect promotion for those who love to back big priced long-shots. With some High Street bookmakers still categorically giving their customers the standard each way terms, savvy online punters have been using online bookmakers who have been offering far better value to their customers now for years. The 2016 renewal of the 2000 Guineas saw 13 starters go to post and some extended each way place offers were available.

2016 Each Way Terms Offered:

  • 4 places each way: Sky Bet.
  • 3 places each way: bet365, BetVictor, Betfair Sportsbook, Betfred, Coral, Ladbrokes, Paddy Power, Stan James, Totesport, William Hill.

Here's a breakdown of the horses and their prices that have been paid out on over and above the standard 3 places each way in the 2000 Guineas from 2016 onwards:

  • 2016: 4th Air Vice Marshal 20/1.

2000 Guineas Recent Results

  • 2016 Galileo Gold L Dettori H Palmer 14/1 13 runners
  • 2015 Gleneagles L Moore RL Moore AP O'Brien 4/1F 18 runners
  • 2014 Night of Thunder K Fallon R Hannon 40/1 14 runners
  • 2013 Dawn Approach KJ Manning JS Bolger 11/8F 13 runners
  • 2012 Camelot JP O'Brien AP O'Brien 15/8F 18 runners
  • 2011 Frankel TP Queally HRA Cecil 1/2F 13 runners
  • 2010 Makfi CP Lemaire M Delzangles 33/1 19 runners
Grand National 5 Places Eaxh Way
Home   |  The Masters 6 Places Each Way | US Open 6 Places Each Way | Open Championship 8 Places Each Way | US PGA 6 Places Each Way
About 6 Places Each Way
          Responsible Gambling:
              6 Places Each Way Contacts: